Wow.  It’s Wednesday and I’m just now writing my first blog post for the week.  This is not routine for me, so I apologize for being a slacker this week!  Usually I have a new recipe, a travel post, AND some new thoughts on life by now.

It all started Saturday when I boarded Southwest flight 2759, SFO to LAX.  The week prior had been full of projects, client meetings, and accomplishments.  The second I set foot on that warm Los Angeles concrete sidewalk, everything on my to-do list fell by the wayside.  I’ve been to LA a hundred times, but for some reason this time was different.  Maybe it was my company, maybe it was the extraordinarily warm December sun.  Whatever it was, it felt perfect.

My sister Deb refers to LA as La La Land, which could not represent my experience better.  It took everything I had to log on to my laptop to actually get some work done while I was there.  But, for the most part, the weekend consisted of great food, great friends, and great music.

To be honest, I met a boy this weekend.  Well, I met him again.  We met when I was 20 years old, and now, 4 years later we met again.  He’s the type of guy that makes you dizzy when he kisses you.  He gives you the laugh that makes your belly hurt.  Holding your hand, goosebumps appear all over your arms.  By the end of the weekend, my cheeks hurt from smiling so much.

It was a dream, and 3 1/2 short days later, I found myself waiting for a taxi in the pouring rain outside of my local BART station, still in my tank top and sandals, wishing to be back in the 80 degree weather sipping a Mai Tai and people-watching next to the pool at my hotel.

Now it’s back to business as usual, and my blogging will go on as regularly scheduled.  But, that doesn’t mean I won’t be dreaming about going back to La La Land, ASAP.

image via