Tags

, , , ,

Natalie Grinnell travel Carole Italy

Traveling in Carole, Italy

The more I see and learn about the world, the more I want to see the rest of it.  When I look through my photos albums it appears as if I’ve seen so much of the world.  But when you think of how many countries, cities, towns, villages there are in the world, I’ve barely seen anything yet.

This morning I finished my budgeting for this summers travel excursions.  On the document includes flights to Hawaii, Canada, Greece, Spain, Southern California, and Las Vegas, plus a week long American road trip with my family…not to mention daily food and lodging expenses, cash for native public transportation, my souvenir budget, and my shopping budget (hey, if I’m going all the way to Spain, I need to buy at least one pair of shoes whilst there).

Looking at the pad of paper with all the expenses and notes printed untidily, exceeding the lined area, you’d think I had a gambling or alcohol addiction.  You can see my drug, how much it costs, and how I plan to keep feeding my dependency.

But, unlike a gambling or drug addiction, traveling actually enhances your life, as so cooly put in this quote from D. H. Lawrence:

When we get out of the glass bottle of our ego and when we escape like the squirrels in the cage of our personality and get into the forest again, we shall shiver with cold and fright. But things will happen to us so that we don’t know ourselves. Cool, unlying life will rush in.

