ditching9to5

Working inside a cold, dark office just isn’t for me. With my job being a creative one (writing + design), I need sunlight and the sounds of the ocean to keep me inspired. I love taking a break in the middle of my day to walk along the beach and refocus my thoughts. Or, I may get on a roll and work until 4 in the morning…then I might need to sleep in the next day. Or, I may need to take more than one coffee break, or work through the weekend. And sometimes, I even take a day off right in the middle of the week. And I’m not alone. Many creative types have this same flexible, sunny schedule.

But for the typical corporate boss, this just doesn’t work. Clock in at 8. Clock out at 5. Take two fifteen-minute breaks and an one-hour long lunch. Take 12 days paid off per year, IF YOU MUST.

For the last 12 months, I’ve tried to balance my creative life with my corporate life, and it worked fine for a while. But you know what? I missed the beach. I missed the sun. I missed my creative freedom. So here are my 2-weeks notice to corporate life.

So here we are. Back in freelance marketing full-time. Okay, more than full-time. But now I’m working with the clients that inspire and doing work that challenges me. And the only commute I do is the 2 block walk to the beach.

