Tags

, ,

tumblr_m5d31sX4Pk1qc01njo1_1280_large

I recently turned 26, and I had a mild quarter life crisis as I began to wonder where I’m supposed to be at this stage in my life.

By comparing ourselves to the standards laid out by society, or even our parents and friends, we may not only be confused, but set ourselves up for failure.  When I see my friends around me, or worse, on Facebook, it makes me wonder about the alternative paths I could have taken.

I see my city friends starting their brilliant companies, starring in Bravo TV shows, and touring the world performing their music in front of thousands of people every night, and I wonder if I should be doing something different.

When I see my childhood friends posting black and white wedding photos or albums full of spaghetti covered toddlers, I wonder if that is something that should be incorporated into my life as well.

Then I look at my own photo albums full of the memories I’ve made with people I’ve met in the cities I’ve traveled to.  I think of all the adventures I might not have had, and the person I might not have become.  I slap myself for even considering that I made the wrong choice.  Every path I’ve taken has brought me to where I am right now, and I can honestly say there’s nowhere else I’d rather be.

There’s plenty of time for all that other stuff, anyway.

Image via.

