Tags

What is it about social media that makes us feel like if we don’t let the world know what we are doing, eating, and seeing, it doesn’t really matter?  When did experiencing life only become about documenting it?

I’m not complaining, not really. It’s really more of an observance, because I am one of the worst offenders.  I’m on almost every social network out there: Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Path, GetGlue, Google+, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Foursquare…I don’t even want to go on out of sheer embarrassment.

Part of me wishes I could blog every memory I make, Instagram every picture in my head, and Facebook every question or comment that pops into my head.  But the honest truth is, not only would it bore you, I just don’t have time for it.

Most of the time, I’m too busy experiencing whatever I’m seeing, tasting, living, that I don’t want to ruin it by pausing these perfect moments to whip out my iPhone.  At least I thought it was most of the time.  That was until friends started commenting on how much it seemed I couldn’t live without checking my phone.  Taking a quick photo and Instagramming it really does take 20 seconds.  It’s the constant notifications afterwards that are the real distraction.  And it needs to stop.  Not only is it rude to my friends, but it takes away from whatever enjoyment I should be focusing on.

I took a look at my notification settings earlier today and realized I have about 50 apps with push notifications.  FIFTY.  Do I really need a notification every time a friend I sort of know checks into a place 50 miles from me?  No I do not.  Do I really need a notification every time someone comments on a photo that I commented on 2 years ago?  No I do not.  I realize these notifications are not only unnecessary, but they also cause me undue stress and distraction.

My solution was to disable about 47 of the 50 notifications.  Obviously, I need the notifications that are forms of contact:  Texting, Google Voice, & Whatsapp.  But the rest I just don’t need.  Maybe after a few days of peace, I’ll let a few more apps back into the notification center.  But, maybe not.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

How do you create more peace in your life?

image via

