This city’s beauty just kills me. Can everyday be Saturday?

Oftentimes, it is very easy to get out of the routine of staying focused, working hard, and generally, just getting things done.   As much as I love my job, there are still other things I’d always rather be doing.  This weekend was jam-packed full of great friends, delicious food, wine tasting, exploring our gorgeous golden state, and quality memory-making.

Sadly it’s now Monday, and it’s time to getting back into the mindset of the #getitgirl I’m trying to be.  Here’s how I intend to stay on track:

1. Creating lists

I start every morning by making a to-do list.  Sometimes there is only 10 to-dos and other times there’s 50.  Either way, crossing out tasks keeps me focused and gives me a feeling of accomplishment for the end of each day.

2.  Getting things done on time.

I have the best co-workers and clients.  I know that we have a mutual respect for each other, and that if I can’t finish a project in time, they’ll probably understand, and grant me an extra day or two.  But, is that the type of business I want to run?  No.  My goal is to get things done before they’re due.  I want to always go above and beyond what is expected.  I want to be dependable; never a source of stress.

3. Staying on budget.

This applies for both my professional and personal life.  Money can be a source of stress if one is not prepared.  Unexpected bills, high living costs, and plain ol’ shopping sprees, can prove stressful come bill-pay day.

When you first start your own business, it is sometimes hard to anticipate how much money you will actual see come payday, so it takes a lot of planning and organization to stay on top of things.

4. Keeping a tidy workspace.

This one truly keeps me from going insane.  After a day and a half off work, I came into my office this morning to find this horrifying scene:

Where exactly am I supposed to sit?

The first thing to tackle was not the pile of emails in my inbox, but the boxes of marketing collateral that were delivered in my absence.  Once my office was tidy,  I cleared out my inbox, then I made my list for the day, and set up goals for the week.  Now, we’re ready to start the week.  Thank goodness it’s only a 3 day week :)

How do you find your work/life balance?

