Tags

, , , ,

It’s Tuesday! Woohoo.  It’s my favorite day of the week because I get to write about traveling.  If you haven’t done so already, you MUST sign up for Southwest Airlines “DING!” alerts…that is if you like to book awesome travel at the drop of a hat.  This morning, for example, Southwest alerted me that they had flights from SFO to LGA (New York City) for $99 each way!  That’s pretty much unheard of nowadays.

The only reason I didn’t book this flight was because I just got back from a 10-day New York City trip.  Speaking of which, I had a wonderful time.  It was so great because my sister also happened to be in NYC at the same time, so we were able to spend some time together there as well.

One of my favorite spots was {no surprise here} The Plaza Hotel.  It wasn’t just the beautiful hotel that I loved, it was mostly the Francois Chocolate Bar, where they serve the most decadent hot cocoa I’ve ever tasted and sweet macarons as well.Another fun time to be had was late night hangs at local jazz clubs: Smalls
(183 W. 10th St., 212-252-5091, West Village), Village Vanguard
(178 Seventh Ave. South, 212-255-4037, West Village) and Fat Cat (75 Christopher St, West Village).  It’s a crazy feeling to be in the same tiny rooms that legends like Miles Davis and Coltrane once played. Aspiring and veteran musicians alike play until 4 in the morning, and beyond.

Obviously, one of the best spots in town is Central Park.  Not only did I get to enjoy the New York Marathon (I saw the winner up close!), but I threw a few hours-long walks in there for good measure.  The only thing I regret is not bringing better walking shoes.  You’d think I’d learn by now that heels are never great for walks in this city.

One last thing is the Highline.  Without giving too much away, it’s a public park built on an historic railroad elevated above the streets of the West Side in Manhattan:

So if you’re thinking about going to NYC anytime soon, you better jump on Southwest for that deal!


