Tags

, , , , , ,

Okay, I know it’s super cheesy to quote pop songs, but John Mayer’s “Why Georgia” is one of my favorite songs because of this simple quote:

“Everybody is just a stranger but that’s the danger in going my own way, I guess it’s the price I going to pay  everyday, still “Everything happens for a reason” is no reason not to ask myself if I’m living it right.”

I grew up in a really, really small town.  I lived in the same house on the same street with the same neighbors until I was 19.  90% percent of the kids I graduated high school with were the same ones I graduated kindergarten with.  My parents went camping with the same group of families every year, and I went to the same religious service every week with the same people.

At 19, I decided I needed a little space from all that familiarity, and moved a whole 20 minutes away to a city with an actual movie theater and mall (which at the time, was big time).  Since then I’ve moved 4 times, each time edging myself a little further from home.  Recently I realized that the further I move from my hometown, the less connection I have to anyone or anything there.

I guess this comes with the territory of having full-throttle career in a big city.  Last week, I was driving up to Tahoe to see the Colbie Caillat concert at Northstar.  As we were driving up the winding California highway, all my memories of my childhood came flooding back to me: My friends Kate, Liz, and I ditching class senior year to visit the local waterfalls…My best friend Patrick and I jumping off the big rock at the covered bridge…My dad and I hiking all over our neighboring country trails….

Sometimes I wonder if I actually made the right decision in leaving everything I knew back home to create a new life in this concrete jungle.  I miss being able to see stars at night, and only hearing crickets as I fall asleep.  I miss my mom every single day.  I miss morning talks over coffee with my sister and seeing my little niece and nephew everyday.  I miss sitting on the couch eating peanuts and watching the Giants play the A’s with my dad.

That night as we drove home to San Francisco, the old memories seemed too distant too quickly.  But, seeing the beautiful lights of the Bay Bridge, the ballpark, Coit Tower, even Ghirardelli Square, new memories flooded in of the amazing times I’ve already created in the short time I’ve lived here, and I know there’s no place I’d rather be right now…

…Although, I wouldn’t mind trying New York City, or maybe Paris some day.  I love that the life I’ve chosen to lead leaves me with so many adventures ahead.  But still…

“Don’t believe me when I say I’ve got it down.”

image

