As you know, April 1st I moved into my first official San Francisco apartment.  Living in the big city has been a goal of mine since I was a wide-eyed, bushy-tailed tween.  So far, living here has had some amazing and exciting aspects, and others not so amazing and exciting.

The Good:

No car.  I love love love not having a car!  Since I turned 16 and was awarded my driver’s license, I never thought this would be something I’d say.  But, surprisingly, not having a car has proven to be a very freeing experience.  I don’t have to worry about where to park, parking tickets, or traffic, not to mention all the exercise I’m getting walking around these crazy hills!  On my lazy days, I take the cable car which stops about a 1/2 block from my door.  I’ve discovered taking the cable car takes about the same amount of time to get downtown as walking, but it comes in handy when I’m wearing 4 inch heels.

The view.  As if the view from my bedroom (see here) wasn’t gorgeous enough, the view from my rooftop is even more breathtaking.  I love to take my coffee and a blanket up to my roof before work and just watch the fog roll over the bay and listen to the hustle and bustle of city life.

The food.  You want it, you’ve got it.  Anything you could possibly want to eat is within walking distance.  Or if I’m having a lazy day, I recently discovered GrubHub.com, which tells you all the local restaurants with free delivery.

The deals. I’m really getting used to deals from sites like Pulsd.com, that show me all the local restaurants or entertainment offering crazy specials for coming in at a certain hour or on a certain day:  Free bagel Monday, $1 Tacos Tuesdays,   Free movie showings, free comedy shows and more.

The Bad:

Parking.  Not that I have a car, but I did the first 2 weeks I lived here and it was impossible to find parking remotely close to my apartment.  Even when I did find parking, it was a 2 hour limit, so I couldn’t keep my car anywhere for any practical amount of time.  I don’t even want to talk about the parking tickets.

Hills.  Since I’m without a car, I’ve noticed how many hills are in this city.  Not that I didn’t know that going in, it’s just every time I was in the city before I’d always have a car, so the hills didn’t seem so tedious, they seemed charming, in fact.  Walking them, however, is a different story.  The bright side: My legs get a killer work out.

The Ugly:

Weather. I can handle cold weather.  I can handle warm weather.  I can handle hot weather.  I can handle the rain and wind, too.  But please, for the love of God, let me know ahead of time what to expect.  That is all I ask.

Over all, living in this city has been a dream come true and I have never been happier. 

Image via.

