Tags

, , , , ,

Last weekend I had the always exciting duty of babysitting my niece and nephew, Gwenny (8) and Jonas (6).  They are on a kick right now where they are constantly asking me when I’m going to get married and have kids  (they think I’m an old maid already).   When I tell them that a husband and kids won’t fit in my tiny San Francisco apartment, they don’t buy it.  So the kids and I sat down over a cup of hot cocoa and discussed life’s most pressing love questions.

 

Natalie: What do you guys know about love?

Gwenny: It’s when a girl and a boy are dating and they do nice stuff for each other all the time.

Jonas: Um, it’s about kissing.


Natalie: How do you know when you’re in love?

Gwenny: You get chickenpox all over your body and butterflies in your tummy.

Natalie: Chickenpox?!

Gwenny: Oops, I mean goosebumps!


Natalie: Have you ever been in love?

Gwenny: One time, in kindergarten.  But we’re not friends anymore.

Jonas: Gross!

Natalie: What should a boy do when he likes a girl?

Gwenny:  He should buy her gifts, like chocolates and roses.  Also, romantic  stuff like a iPhone.


Natalie:  What is the most important thing about a boyfriend or husband?

Gwenny: My mom says money, but I like a boy that’s cute, like a certain boy at my school.

(Side note: I can assure you my sister does not think money is most important)

Jonas: And he should have a good job.

Natalie: What kind of job?

Jonas: Anything but a garbage man!


Natalie:  When should you tell each other “I love you”?

Gwenny: Like on your wedding day.


Natalie: How do you know when you meet the boy you’re going to marry?

Gwenny:  I guess when he proposes.  That’s when you know you’re supposed to get married to him.


Okay, so maybe it’s not the best advice after all.

Image via: 1

