Tags

, , , , ,

Last summer I had the awesome experience of spending 2 weeks in one of my favorite cities in the world: Rome.  Every step you take on the streets of Rome is like walking through time.  It’s a surreal feeling to be in one of the oldest cities in history.  It makes the United States seem like a baby, which it is by comparison.

You can spend your whole trip doing nothing but wandering around museums and eating pizza all day.

My mom and a few friends were on this trip with me and we loved just walking around the streets for hours on end.  You can literally walk miles and never leave the beautiful and amazing architecture of these historic streets.

My favorite spot was the Trevi Fountain.  It seemed that everytime we came to this spot we would make a friend, or 10.  If you’ve ever been here, or seen the film Eat. Love. Pray., you are familiar with the friendliness of Italian boys :)  Only one of these boys spoke English at the time, but they definitely tried their best to express themselves through gestures and pointing.

As your may have read in my Roman Holiday post, another one of my favorite places in this city is the La Bocca della Verità or the Mouth of Truth.  It’s hard to find, but it has a great story, especially when told by the great Gregory Peck.  The story goes that if you put your hand in the mouth of the fountain, and you speak a lie, your hand will be bitten off.

Francesco, desperately trying to express his thoughts with his brand new English-Italian dictionary.

As always, I cannot wait to go back to Rome, or just Italy in general.  I always tell my readers that if you really have the desire to travel, you have to make it happen for yourself.  Don’t wait around for the perfect time or until you have lots of money saved up.   If time, or money, or work, or something else is holding you back, you just have to rearrange your priorities and make it happen.   I’ve gone to Europe on $500 before.  It wasn’t the most glamorous of vacations at the time, but looking back I wouldn’t have done it any other way.

