Tags

, , ,

Every Thursday during the summer months of the year, the tiny town of Lafayette, California (located in the East Bay Area-about 20 minutes from San Francisco) hosts a farmer’s market.  Last Thursday I decided to ride my bike downtown and finally visit this community tradition, not knowing that it was actually the last farmer’s market of the season :(

With $22 cash in hand, I picked up some lovely treats: 1 curry pumpkin, 1 bushel of dragon beans, 1 sourdough baguette, 1 golden bear of honey, 6 honey sticks, 3 huge peaches, 3 purple plums, 2 green plums and I even had some change left over.  I’m not sure exactly what I’m going to do with all my yummy treasures, but I’m sure I’ll find something delicious to make with the curry pumpkin and dragon beans.

Note self: Get a mountain bike.  My 1-speed beach cruiser is not the bike I necessarily want to take on long, hilly bike rides anymore.

Do you have a farmer’s market in your area?

