“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

This is my favorite quote from Mark Twain.  Every time I read it, I feel like hopping in my car or jumping on a plane, ready to explore a new place I’ve never ventured to before.  To me, there aren’t many things in the world more fulfilling than traveling.  Of course, traveling with good friends or my lovely family makes it even better.  I come from a family with 4 girls.  My sisters and I are all very different in a lot of ways, but one way in which we are all exactly the same is our love of travel.  As you may have read in a previous post, we get this love of travel our parents, our mother especially.

 

Sometimes, though, just staying in a city for a couple days or weeks at a time just isn’t enough for us.  My sisters and I can spend an entire evening sitting in my living room, drinking a glass or two of wine, and dreaming of the cities we hope someday to inhabit.   Even though they are most likely just dreams, we tend to think that someday we will make our dreams of making the move a reality.  Here are the cities in our dreams:

{Paris}

I know everyone always lists Paris as a favorite abroad city, but for good reason.  The fashion, the art, the coffee, the amazing views…What more could a girl want? We dream of wandering around the museums, mastering the french language, sitting in a small cafe, watching artists paint, or writing about our travels, then heading back to our amazing apartment overlooking Montmartre.  Even American writer Ernest Hemingway said, ““If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a movable feast.”

{Carmel}

Carmel-By-the-Sea, on California’s coast, is one of the most breathtaking villages I have seen.  The views alone rival those in Tuscany or the South of France.  We dream of daily runs on the beach, opening up our own boutique right on Ocean Avenue, and eating our daily breakfast at Katy’s Place.

 

{Barcelona}

 

Barcelona is one of the most diverse cities I’ve been too, and its city life is the best.  The residents of Barcelona have some much desire and energy, it is hard not to be inspired.   They have an electrifying excitement for life,  love, and of course, great food.

{San Francisco}

When I tell people I am planning on moving to San Francisco, they usually always have the same reaction: “It’s so foggy there!”  Which is definitely true.  But like my sisters, I thrive in this weather.  We adore the the fog and the rain.  We love throwing on our rain boots and our chic jackets and heading out to our day.  Plus, it’s not always that foggy.  There is something incredibly unique about the energy in this city by the bay.  Everyone seems to have a strong passion for what they do, who they are, and what they believe in.  Plus, I wouldn’t trade the scenery for anything.

These are the cities in our dreams…What are yours?

Why not take a moment to subscribe?  You won’t regret it, I promise :)

