My two week trip exploring Venice, Italy and it’s neighboring towns was quite an adventure, one that I will never forget.  Venice in particular is a very interesting city.  It’s beauty is very unique, even for an Italian city.

One of my favorite movies of all time is Only You with Robert Downey Jr. and Marisa Tomei (I know, cheesy, right?).  I’ve seen the movie a hundred times and my one of my favorite scenes is when Marisa Tomei and Bonnie Hunt first arrive in Venice.  They arrive by boat taxi and head straight for the Hotel Danieli, so naturally this was my first priority when I arrived at the Marco Polo airport.

Hotel Danieli

One water taxi ride, 1 stop at the Hotel Danieli, and 2 glasses of Prosecco later, I was off in search of the famous Piazza San Marco.

Every inch of Venice is a Kodak moment.  Every turn you take leads you down an exciting and picturesque path.  Venice is pretty much a maze to any first time visitors.  But, getting lost is all part of the fun.  It is such a surreal feeling to be in a city that is so widely romanticized by Hollywood.

After exploring Venice for a week or so, my travel buddy and I thought it would be a great idea to drive into the city instead of taking a 1/2 hour longer to take the water taxi again. Not only was getting there an adventure, but after gallivanting around Venice ’til the wee hours of the morning, we started to drive home, only to run out of gas less than a mile outside of the city.  Cruising into the Italian petrol station, we hopped out of our car to pay for the gas, only to discover they didn’t take credit card.  Only having American currency on us (typical after a day of purchasing knickknacks and postcards for our friends back home), we needed to find an Italian ATM, and fast.  My friend suggested I stay with the car and he would set out in search of an ATM.  I sat in the Mini Cooper for about 15 minutes before falling asleep (on accident).  1 hour and 15 minutes later, my friend knocked on the window, hand full of cash ready to make our petrol purchase.  We eventually made it home, just in time for breakfast.

I’ve read other blogs and reviews that think that Venice is overrated.  For me, Venice definitely lived up to the hype that has been built up about it over it’s lifetime and I can’t wait to return.  It was full of great food, great wine, beautiful scenery, amazing people, and it was definitely an adventure.

