I was listening to the radio this morning, and the morning show hosts were talking about the top 10 things married people regret not doing before they settled down.  Although I’ve done much on this list, I think it’s still great to look back and rediscover some of the most fantastic times of singlehood, and continue to think of things that my single friends and I can do to keep our momentum going, before we allow some lucky mister to join us in our crazy shenanigans.

1. Travel Alone. There’s something completely freeing about being alone in an unfamilar city.  You are free to make your own decisions, go where  you want to, and at the same time, develop a self-reliance that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

2. Wallow in the ache of a broken heart. I’ve had two major break ups in my life.  I feel that both experiences made me grow in positive ways.  I discovered that I wasn’t the center of the universe. I realized it takes a lot of work, for both partners.  I found out that if it doesn’t feel right, it probably isn’t.  Most importantly, don’t settle.

3. Spend a weekend with a married couple your own age. A first hand look at a real marriage, is the best way to discover what a good marriage takes to succeed, and if it’s right for you.

Rich and Kate, 4th of July Weekend, Tahoe

Kate and Me, 4th of July weekend, Tahoe

4. Pull an all nighter.  Some of the best memories of my life are the ones when one of my best friends and my favorite travel buddy, Chelsey, and I stayed out all night exploring New York City, Montreal, Chicago and Boston.

Chesley driving us, LOST IN CHICAGO

5. Stand up for a cause you really care about.  The best feeling you can get, is from giving a little of yourself for something much larger than you.

6. Have a real adventure. Discovering and experiencing something really amazing should be your top priority.

Walking around an abandoned house in Ceggae, Italy. We had to climb a 15 foot fence to get in (me, in a dress), but the danger of getting caught was all part of the adventure.

7. Learn how to take care of yourself. Being self-sufficient is a much needed quality, single or married.

8. Buy something totally impractical just because you love it.  Here lies #18 on this years to do list.

9. Develop a hobby.  Cooking, fishing, reading, surfing.  Do something that you L.O.V.E.

10. Be completely, utterly, wholly single for at least three months. Make it six.


If  you are single or married, what is your favorite memory of your single times?

{radio station credit}

