High School Days

Generally speaking, change is good.

In my life, change has usually been for the better.  Getting out of my small hometown.  Living on my own.   Landing the job.  Breaking up with that boyfriend.  I view these changes as moving forward in my life, instead of staying stagnant, unnoticed by the world.

My dad always told me growing up that his goal as a father was to raise his five kids to be productive members of society.  My whole life, that is what I have been determined to do.  Filling my life with community, good friends, a healthy lifestyle, and hard work was just the beginning.  Now, I have been offered a new position in a new city, at a public relations agency.  When interviewing for the position, I discovered that this company wasn’t just a PR agency, but a staff of honest hearted people, truly wanting to help build the names and reputations of small and big businesses alike.

Changing careers, cities and social circle is taking a huge leap, especially for someone like me, who has had the same friends since I was 2 years old.  I grew up in a small community, and until recently, stayed close to my roots.  But, sometimes you just need a change.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved working at Michael Greene & Co. I loved my colleagues, my 5 minute commute, the celebrity clients, the red carpet events.  I was so lucky to have been offered the position there, and with the amazing things I learned about my industry (event planning, PR, marketing), it was a great place for me to start my career.

In my new position at Tidal Wave Social,  the newest branch of F.W.I.W. Creative, I serve as the PR & Social Media Account Executive.  This means a completely new demographic, not to mention a variety of clients, instead of just one.  I may be in over my head a bit, but that’s the best way for me to learn.  So far, I’m in love with my new position.  I am learning new things at lightning speed, and enjoying every minute of it.

I feel like a new chapter in my life is just beginning and I can’t wait to really get it started.  The thing I continue to remember always, is that life should be an adventure…so that’s exactly what I’m going to make it.

