2010 was a very dramatic year for me.  It was full of very exciting and stressful changes for me.  The biggest among these changes was moving to the San Francisco Bay Area to start and run my own business, which was among my goals for 2010.  Here’s a recap of my career resolutions for 2010:

1. Work in San Francisco.

2.  Make a decent living.

3. Work from home, at least part time, so I’m able to travel more.

Not the most ambitious list, but it definitely got me headed in the right direction.   Now that 2011 is here, I feel the need to raise my standards.  The higher the risk, the higher the pay off, right?  Here are 6 resolutions I hope to accomplish- no, I will accomplish– in 2011:

1. Get paid for doing what I love.

As the old saying goes, “As long as you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life.”  This has proved true to me over the past couple years, and as I move through 2011 I intend to keep this a priority as I make my business decisions.   Now that I work for myself, I feel that choosing the companies I represent will have a huge impact on whether I am enjoying my work or not.  I am only choosing to work with companies I stand behind 100%.  {Yes, I stand behind Tuttimelon Frozen Yogurt, 110%!}  This keeps me passionate about my work, which in turns produces the best results for my clients.

2. Work my butt off.

I don’t mean to keep throwing quotes at you, but another inspirational line comes to mind, “I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.”  -Thomas Jefferson.   I don’t think anyone can argue with that.

3.  Stretch my paycheck.

Because money matters.  I don’t mean stretch my paycheck so that I can afford rent, cocktails, and that new pair of Louboutins I’ve had my eye on.  I mean stretch my paycheck so that I can afford my bills, investments, and save for retirement…and have a social life, too.

4.  Get paid what I’m worth.

This may be the hardest goal.  There’s a fine (or maybe not so fine) line between what you think you should get paid and what someone else thinks you should get paid.   Luckily, this also goes along with being choosey with the clientele I take on.  I not only choose clients whose product I stand behind, but these are clients who stand behind me and who have an admiration for what I do as well.  It creates a win-win business relationship.  This is also where the gutsy resolution comes in, because being choosey with clients can mean less money, as well.

5. Go with the flow.

I’m well aware of the fact that throughout this year my career will no doubt have its highs and lows.  Business may be booming one quarter and at a lull the next.  Being prepared for these volatile circumstances will help me keep my stability.  This is also where #3 comes in again.

These are my career resolutions for 2011, what are yours?

Image via 1.