Tags

, , , , , , ,

As many of your know by now, I am an avid traveler.  I love to travel alone, in groups, or with friends.  I have had many adventures abroad, so many great memories.  I’m afraid if I don’t write them down, they may slip from my memory, almost as if they never existed.  Which, to me, is the scariest thing that could happen.  I pride myself on having a pretty good memory, but when I think back on some of my earliest travels, I have a hard time recalling some of the details.

So over the next few months, I want to give my readers a look at the places I’ve been, and tell you the stories that go along with them.  Starting with…

My favorite place in the entire world…

Capri, Italy.

This magical island is truly where my heart is.  It all started when my sister, Jessica, and I discovered a wedding film by world famous filmmaker and photographer, Barnaby Draper.  As soon as I saw this island beautifully & artistically featured in 8mm film, I knew I had to go there.  Soon after, I showed my mother the film (she has the same love of travel that I do) and almost immediately she began planning our voyage across the Atlantic.

Although Capri was just one of the stops we made on our 3 week trek across the Mediterranean cities, Capri was the one that has stayed vivid in my memory ever since.

My first time to Capri in 2008

Capri is filled with natural beauty at every turn.  Located in the Gulf of Naples, the view is especially breath taking from the highest point on the island, Anacapri.  It is also known for some of the most extravagant places to shop.  With the perfect mix of glamour, beauty, and relaxation, Capri is definitely one of the greatest places on earth.

Scenic Route {Arrive by Boat}

Art, Shopping, and Beauty - The perfect mix

Even the tiniest details are turned into art

Living Art

Life in Capri

During my first stay in Capri, I realized this place was going to be very important to me.  I’m still not exactly sure why I feel such a strong connection to this city.  Most people feel connected to the buzz of city life, like you’d find in New York City or Paris.  Others find comfort in quaint communities.  Still, I find that Capri has the glamour of the city with the relaxing qualities of an intimate town. There are plenty of places to drop thousands on a pair of Jimmy Choos, plenty of cafes to stop for espresso, and the water is warm enough to jump right in.  If you have a couple extra hours to tour around the island, take an hour to see is La Grotta Azzurra (The Blue Grotto).  This is a beautiful cave right on the water.  To get inside, you have to take a  little boat, and lie down in it to fit through the tiny entry way.  It’s a very unique part of the island.

Capri's Blue Grotto

So far, I’ve been to Capri twice, in 2008 and 2009….And I’m crossing my fingers for 2010.

My 2009 trip to Capri, Italy

If you could travel anywhere today, where would you go?

Image of Blue Grotto courtesy of 1.